Skip to main content
You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.
Baylor football team set to sign DB-heavy class

Baylor football team set to sign DB-heavy class

20190827_spt_matt_rhule_jl (copy)

Baylor head football coach Matt Rhule sees a bright future as the Bears’ success on the field is creating momentum in recruiting.

Baylor is expected to sign a small but potentially productive 2020 recruiting class when the NCAA’s early signing period kicks off Wednesday.

With Cypress Ranch High School tight end Drake Dabney announcing his commitment Tuesday, the Bears have verbal commitments from 15 players, including a pair of four-star recruits in Newton defensive end James Sylvester and Lamar Consolidated running back Taye McWilliams.

The 6-6, 230-pound Dabney, a three-star recruit by, had been committed to Arizona, but opened up his recruitment following his visit to Baylor last weekend.

On Sunday, Baylor received a commitment from three-star safety Devin Neal from Frederick Douglass High School in Lexington, Ky. Baylor is expected to add more recruits to the class during the early signing period or the February signing period.

While it’s too early for Baylor to experience the full impact of its 11-2 season and upcoming Sugar Bowl appearance, Matt Rhule believes high school coaches like the direction of his program and feel comfortable sending their players to Waco.

“People in this state, high school coaches in this state, even people we’ve recruited for two years, I think they understand the magnitude of going from where we were to where we are,” Rhule said. “I talk a lot about process. I think people truly believe in the process, the way we do things. And I think they see players developing. So it’s been a really positive message out there.”

Following the success of its Big 12-leading 3-3-5 defense this season, Baylor’s new class will be heavy on defensive backs with six verbal commitments. Joining Neal will be Pflugerville Connally cornerback Jahdae Barron, Lancaster cornerback Theron Stroops, Lawton (Okla.) safety Chateau Reed, and a pair of Louisiana recruits including Cecilia cornerback Jalen Celestine and West Monroe safety Brooks Miller.

The other defensive commitments include Sylvester, Sachse defensive end Anthony Anyanwu and Klein linebacker William Garner.

Baylor’s offensive commitments are Dabney, McWilliams, Kilgore lineman Mose Jeffery, Colleyville Heritage tackle Gavin Byers, Pearland Shadow Creek wide receiver Seth Jones and Brownwood receiver Adonis McCarthy.

BEAR FACTS – Former Baylor star Del Shofner has been named to the Sugar Bowl Hall of Fame. In No. 11 Baylor’s 13-7 upset of No. 2 Tennessee in the 1957 Sugar Bowl, Shofner rushed for 88 yards on 14 carries, including a 54-yard run in the second quarter to set up a touchdown. Shofner also intercepted a pass in the end zone and punted seven times for 228 yards.

Centex 25 for 2020

Ranking the top football prospects in Central Texas.

No. Name Pos Ht Wt School Status
1 Quentin Johnson WR 6-4 190 Temple Signed with TCU
2 Jay’veon Sunday RB 5-11 188 Connally Signed with Washington
3 Will Nixon RB 5-11 185 Midway Signed with Nebraska
4 Korie Black DB 6-1 160 Connally Signed with Oklahoma State
5 Trent Pullen OT 6-3 270 Connally Signed with Oklahoma State
6 Demarrquese Hayes LB 6-2 195 La Vega Signed with Kansas State
7 Wesley Ndago OL 6-3 295 Midway Committed to Air Force
8 Logan Smith K 5-7 165 Belton Signed with Texas
9 Jordan Nichols DB 6-0 180 Connally Signed with North Texas
10 Landry Kinne QB 6-1 175 La Vega Uncommitted
11 Elijah Washington OL 6-6 285 Belton Signed with Blinn JC
12 DaMarco Williams DB 6-3 180 Temple Signed with Tulsa
13 Carson Byrd DT 6-1 265 Midway Committed to Trinity
14 Devin Wilson ATH 5-11 185 Whitney Uncommitted
15 Bryce Boland K 6-0 165 Midway Committed to Baylor
16 Jeremiah Stroupe RB 5-11 181 University Uncommitted
17 Anthony Jackson RB 5-7 185 Temple Uncommitted
18 Corey Sandolph WR 6-2 180 University Uncommitted
19 Luke Horner LB 6-2 210 Midway Signed with Houston Baptist
20 Kolby Tanner WR 5-11 165 Whitney Uncommitted
21 Keith Guillory Jr. S 5-9 175 Waco High Uncommitted
22 Braden Endsley DE 6-1 240 Midway Uncommitted
23 Ty Moore WR 6-1 185 Lorena Uncommitted
24 Jar-Mychael Hudson LB 6-2 180 Fairfield Uncommitted
25 KJ Peoples WR 5-7 168 China Spring Uncommitted

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert